About Deakin

Profile of the Electoral Division of Deakin

State: Victoria

Name Derivation: Named after Alfred Deakin 1856-1919, Prime Minister of Australia 1903-04, 1905-08 and 1909-10.

The Division of Deakin is located in Melbourne’s eastern suburbs. It covers an area of approximately 70 sq km from Blackburn in the west to Croydon in the east. The main suburbs include Bayswater North (part), Blackburn, Blackburn North, Croydon (part), Croydon South (part), Forest Hill (part), Heathmont, Mitcham, Nunawading, Ringwood, Ringwood East, Ringwood North (part), Vermont and Vermont South

Map of Division:  Click on the link to view a map of the Division which will apply at the next Federal election РMap of Deakin (pdf)

Products/Industries of the Area: Mainly residential with some light manufacturing, commercial and retail industries.

First Proclaimed/Election: 1936/1937

Demographic Rating: Outer Metropolitan


  • Symon, M (ALP) 2007-2013
  • Barresi, P (LP) 1996-2007
  • Aldred, K J (LP) 1990-1996
  • Beale, J H (LP) 1984-1990
  • Saunderson, J (ALP) 1983-1984
  • Jarman, A W (LP) 1966-1983
  • Davis, F J (LP) 1949-1966
  • Hutchinson, W J (LP) 1937-1949