02 Aug 2013

Deakin MP’s Volunteer Awards Presented

Latest News Comments Off on Deakin MP’s Volunteer Awards Presented

This week Mike, assisted by Whitehorse Councillor Sharon Ellis, presented the Deakin Members of Parliament Volunteer Awards for 2013 to some outstanding volunteers who contribute their time to a range of organisations in Deakin. The Awards say thank you to individuals who make an important contribution to the community through volunteering, some who have been doing so for many years.

Many organisations in the electorate of Deakin rely heavily on the contribution of volunteers – the unsung heroes who give up their free time to deliver services, in the areas of education, emergency services, innovation, environment and community welfare.

In 2013 the Deakin Member of Parliament’s Volunteer Awards were presented in the following categories and awarded to:
• MP’s Volunteer of the Year Award – William (Bill) Brown
Bill has volunteered at Wesley Homelessness Support Services for over 20 years supporting the Material Aid Program
• Young Volunteer Award – Lauren Chen
A student, Lauren was a member of the Whitehorse Youth Representative Committee in 2012.
• Senior Volunteer Award – Faye North
Faye has been volunteering with Uniting Care’s Biala for 8 years providing respite care for pre-school aged children with additional needs and is a member of the organisation’s Committee of Management.
• Education Award – Brendan Davis
Brendan supports a Wood Worm Disability Group for Eastern Access Community Health. The group is currently building a chook house for a local school.
• Environment Award – Comely Bank Volunteers
Sandra and Peter Matthews, John Grainger, John Metcalfe, John Lew, Grant Newton and Don Lorey make up the fantastic gardening team who support the 5 acre garden at Comely Bank respite retreat.
• Innovation in Volunteering Award – The Fete Committee (Heathmont East PS)
The Heathmont East PS fete committee of Mark Granland, Nicky Marran and Kellie Liddell works tirelessly to ensure the fete each year is a success both financially and also in bringing the school community together.
• Long Term Commitment to Community Service Award – Irene Harris
Irene has served many roles including President and Secretary during her long association with the Ringwood Little Athletics Centre.
• Long Term Commitment to Community Service Award – Sally Hodgson
Sally is the longstanding Treasurer and has been involved with the Forest Hill Cricket Club for 25 years.
• Community Volunteer Award (General) – Richard Anderson
Richard provides pastoral and welfare services to the elderly, as well as people with limited mobility and socially disadvantaged people.
• Community Volunteer Award (General) – Ross Peacock
Ross is a highly respected volunteer at U3A Nunawading and has been involved in the organisation for the past 10 years.

Comments are closed.